Skip to content Skip to left sidebar Skip to footer

City Council

The Smiths Station City Council meets on the second and fourth Tuesdays of each month with a work session starting at 5:30 p.m. Eastern Time followed by the regular meeting at 6 p.m.

Place 1

Morris Jackson grew up in Wacoochee Valley but has called Smiths Station home for the majority of his life. He is a Vietnam veteran and spent 42 years working for Georgia Power. Jackson was a member of the committee whose efforts led to the incorporation of Smiths Station on June 22, 2001. He is the first Place 2 representative and is an original member of the Smiths Station City Council. As a council member, Jackson is the mayor pro-tem and chairman of the city’s annexation and environmental committees.

Place 3
James Moody is a Columbus native but has called Smiths Station home since 1969. He is a musician by trade and worked more than 30 years as a lineman for Smiths Water and Sewer Authority. Moody has served as the Place 3 representative since being elected in 2004.

Place 4
Richard Cooley, born in Opelika, has called Smiths Station home since 1965. He is an Air Force veteran and spent nearly 40 years in education, with 12 of those spent at Smiths Station High School. Serving as the master of ceremonies for the swearing-in of Smiths Station’s first mayor and original city council, Cooley joined as the Place 4 representative in 2004.

Place 5