Lee County

State of Alabama

The Official Website of The State of Alabama

Smiths Station, AL Current Representatives

Governor Currently Representing Alabama
Kay Ivey ( Republican ) 334-242-7100

Senators Currently Representing Alabama
Doug Jones ( Democrat ) 202-224-4124
326 Russell Senate Office Building Washington DC 20510

Richard C. Shelby ( Republican ) 202-224-5744
304 Russell Senate Office Building Washington DC 20510

House Of Representatives Currently Representing Smiths Station, AL
3rd State Congressional District
Mike Rodgers ( Republican ) 202-225-3261
324 Cannon House Office Building, Washington DC 20515-0103


Mayor F. L. “Bubba” Copeland

Mayor Copeland is a lifelong resident of Smiths Station. He graduated in 1992 from Smiths Station High School where he also played football under Coach Moose Godwin.  After high school, he went on to attended College.

Prior to becoming mayor on November 7, 2016, Mayor Copeland served on the Lee County Board of Education for eleven years.

Mayor Copeland

Mayor Copeland

During the time he spent on the school board he was instrumental in the restructuring of the schools to create neighborhood schools.  As a result, the amount of money that was saved on fuel; the school board was able to break the ground for the new Smiths Station High School. In 2016, the graduation rate was up from seventy percent to ninety percent.

Mayor Copeland is an ordained minister and serves as a youth minister at First Baptist Church in Phenix City, Alabama. He also owns and operates the Country Market in Salem, Alabama while raising his son Carter.

coming soon…

City Clerk: Scott Johnston

City Planning Administrator & Communications Director: Lisa Deason

Administrative Clerk: Diane Stein

Receptionist: Donna Harrell

Receptionist: Susan Lansdon


Officer: Ed Adams


Parks and Recreation Director: Michael Jones


Finance Officer: Shelby Branton

Finance Specialist: Brenda Dockery


Environmental Clerk: Fran Remington 


Brenda Allen


Morris Jackson

Richard Cooley

Dick Key, Chairman

James Moody

George Stringer

Richard Cooley, Chairman

George Stringer, Jr.

Dick Key

Shelby Branton

Morris Jackson, Chairman

James Moody

Shelby Branton

Lisa Deason

George Stringer, Jr., Chairman

Dick Key

James Moody

Michael Jones


Carolyn Pinkney, Chairperson

Darold Idland, Vice-Chairman

Dick Key

Lisa Deason

Kathy Rowell

Richard Terry

William Spear

Jeff Bright

Mike Kane



Mike Green, Chairman

Byron Weeks, Vice Chairman

Charles Shaw, Secretary

Sean Ward

Steve Stainsby

Sharon Quarles

coming soon…
coming soon…
The City of Smiths Station is serviced by the Lee County Sheriff’s Department.Lee County AL Sheriff Department Seal
1900 Frederick Road
Opelika, AL 36803-0688
Sheriff: Jay Jones
Email: lcso@leecountysheriff.org
Non Emergency Phone: 334-749-5651
Fax: 334-749-4835
Please call 911 for Emergencies.
Website: Lee County Sheriff Department
 Lee County Sheriff app for iPhone
 Lee County Sheriff app for Android
The City of Smiths Station is serviced by Smiths Station Fire and Rescue, a volunteer fire department.Smiths Station Fire and Rescue Seal
P O Box 122
Smiths Station, AL 36877
Chief:  Joe Walden
E-mail: help@smithsfire.org
Phone: 334-297-7151
Fax: 334-297-4683
Please call 911 for Emergencies.
Website: Smiths Station Fire and Rescue
Smiths Water & Sewer Authority is an organization of dedicated professionals who are united in one goal: to continuously provide an efficient, cost effective supply of clean, safe drinking water toSmiths Water & Sewer Authority the residents of Smiths Station and surrounding Lee County communities while being responsive to growth within our community and ensuring the long-term reliability of the system.

Have a question or comments? Contact us anytime. We’d like to hear from you!

Email: info@smithswater.com
Hours: Monday-Friday: 8:30 am- 5:00 pm EDT
Toll Free: 800-298-6342
Website: Smiths Water & Sewer Authority

Located in the Smiths Station Government Center.lee county Alabama Seal

**Office does not handle driver license transactions**

Phone: 334-291-1326
Hours: 9:00 am to 4:30 pm est. Monday – Friday.

Services offered:

  • Motor Vehicle Registration and Tags
  • Property Taxes
  • Homestead Exemptions

Click here to Renew Tags Online

City of Smiths Station Alabama © 2001 - 2018 |2336 Lee Rd 430 Smiths Station, Alabama 36877 | 334-297-8771

Terms of use | Legal/Copyright Notices | Site Map | Website Feedback | ADA Accessibility